Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Intonation problem - on one string.

Default Intonation problem - on one string.

Hey! So I changed the strings on my Luna concert ukulele and now the E string has horrible intonation. It's spot on played open, as are all the other strings. But by the time I'm at the 3rd fret it's rolling sharp and just gets worse up the fretboard (all others are fine). I'm a long time guitarist - but only been on the ukulele for a few years. This is the first time I've changed the strings, but this was not an issue with the original strings, and I didn't alter anything else. And I changed the strings one at a time to keep some stress on the saddle. I've occasionally gotten hold of a bad guitar string in a new set - but what are the chances I got a bad one in my first ever string change? Doesn't seem likely to me, so I was hoping someone here had some advice.

FYI - I went from the original Luna strings to a set of Ernie Balls (been using them on guitars for years so I went with someone I knew)

Thanks!.

I didn't even know Ernie Ball made ukulele strings. You didn't put steel strings on did you?

It does seem to be an odd coincidence but if the other 3 strings are fine that would tend to eliminate a lot of other culprits. Martin M600s would be a cheap way to check
    Ukulele:
    Iriguchi Tenor "Weeble" - A, WoU Clarity
    Blue Star 19" baritone Konablaster - DGBE
    Cocobolo 16" SC#1-gCEA, SC SLMU
    Ono #42 19" baritone, Ab, LW
    Imua iET-Bb, M600
    Covered Bridge CLN pineapple - Eb cuatro, SC XLL
    Rogue bari
    Bonanza super tenor, cFAD SC LHU
    Kala KSLNG, Eb SC XLU
    Hanson 5-string tenor, dGCEA
    Bonanza SLN GCEA
    Southern Cross concert GCEA
    Guitars:
    Jupiter #47, G, TI CF127
    Pelem, B reentrant
    Jupiter #71, A, UG1

!Flukutronic!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Hanks View Post
    I didn't even know Ernie Ball made ukulele strings. You didn't put steel strings on did you?