Intonation problem - on one string.

Wineshop

Reaction score
Hey! So I changed the strings on my Luna concert ukulele and now the E string has horrible intonation. It's spot on played open, as are all the other strings. But by the time I'm at the 3rd fret it's rolling sharp and just gets worse up the fretboard (all others are fine). I'm a long time guitarist - but only been on the ukulele for a few years. This is the first time I've changed the strings, but this was not an issue with the original strings, and I didn't alter anything else. And I changed the strings one at a time to keep some stress on the saddle. I've occasionally gotten hold of a bad guitar string in a new set - but what are the chances I got a bad one in my first ever string change? Doesn't seem likely to me, so I was hoping someone here had some advice.

FYI - I went from the original Luna strings to a set of Ernie Balls (been using them on guitars for years so I went with someone I knew)

Thanks!.

I didn't even know Ernie Ball made ukulele strings. You didn't put steel strings on did you? :p

It does seem to be an odd coincidence but if the other 3 strings are fine that would tend to eliminate a lot of other culprits. Martin M600s would be a cheap way to check

I didn't even know Ernie Ball made ukulele strings. You didn't put steel strings on did you? :p

It does seem to be an odd coincidence but if the other 3 strings are fine that would tend to eliminate a lot of other culprits. Martin M600s would be a cheap way to check

Nope - Ernie indeed makes a set ukulele strings!

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/EB2329--ernie-ball-2329-concert-soprano-nylon-ball-end-ukulele-strings-clear

I've actually talked to them and they are concerned, as it's not something they commonly see. (Impressed with their customer service, for sure). Looks like I just may have gotten a single bad string. I bet I've seen that twice in my 40 years of playing stringed instruments! I'll follow up when I know more.