6 string: baritone uke, guitelele, 1/4 sized guitar, mini guitar????

EvanB

Reaction score
I've been playing classical guitar for more than 50 years. I'm not a great player, but I have had a long time passion for guitars and been through more than 50 of them.

Recently I purchased a ukulele for my daughter and happened to run across a Caramel 6 string baritone that looked interesting--I bought it, was amazed and now I find myself looking at small versions of the classical guitar.

I'm not sure what the difference is between the baritone uke, the guitelele, the 1/4 sized and mini guitars. I want an instrument with the normal e to e tuning and it looks to me like any of the mentioned instruments might work depending on the scale.

I would appreciate any information regarding my search.

Well, to start, baritone uke almost always refers to a 4-course instrument, so a 5 or 6 string baritone uke will have 1 or 2 doubled strings.

Guitalele is more commonly used to refer to a 17" scale 6-course instrument but you will also see guilele and guitarlele and sometimes they will be used on a 19" or 20" scale 6-course instrument. There's really no standard.

1/4-size typically means a 19" scale instrument with a larger body than a uke-inspired guilele. Mini guitar can mean anything. :p

If you want e to e tuning, your best bet is going to a longer scale (like 20") with higher tension classical strings. There are also some sets from Cordoba and Aquila that claim this tuning.

Or another option is to go with one of several reentrant tunings. By taking the bottom 2 or 3 strings up a octave, that can give you more options.

I think there is also an Aquila set for an e to e tuning up an entire octave for 17" scale.

If you treat the tuning as a kind of capo, you increase your options even more.

There really is a lot to consider and explore.

Jim;