Amplification needs for gig

Strum

Reaction score
I will be playing my first gig in a month or so--with a steel drum player and a keyboard player, so I'll need some amplification. Since it's my first time playing live and I don't know how often I'll be doing this, I thought of starting off simply, by getting an iRig Acoustic Stage with a Roland Mobile Cube (the latest model is called a Mobile BA). That takes care of the ukulele part of the equation but if I/we sing, what will be needed—a microphone and stand? Any suggestions on a mic?

It looks like that amp does not have 48v so get a dynamic mic. I've been using a Samsung that cost $35, which looks very much like the Shure SM58. Here's a Behringer for $25 at B&H that should work fine.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/prod...ba_85a_dynamic_super_cardioid_microphone.html

This is Michael Kohan in Los Angeles, Beverly Grove near the Beverly Center
8 tenor cutaway ukes, 4 acoustic bass ukes, 10 solid body bass ukes, 14 mini electric bass guitars (Total: 36)

Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children in hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org
Member The CC Strummers: www.youtube.com/user/CCStrummers/video, www.facebook.com/TheCCStrummers

+1 on a Behringer dynamic. For vocals, the Behringer XM8500 is a great mic. It has a considerably higher output than an SM58 (so needs less gain at the mixer) and has better intelligibility. it's also "nearly" feedback-proof, within reason. It's a bargain at $20. I've used several of them for at least 5 years with no problems. Works great on a stand, but has some handling noise if you don't hold it still.

The Behringer SL85S was awful.