Your First Ukulele?

BBegall

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I was going through some old bills when I discovered the nine year old receipt from a big on-line music store for my first ukulele. I decided on a concert size and purchased a Luna Tattoo for just over $100.

I think I chose the Luna based on price, looks and on-line user reviews. It wasn't a very good ukulele but it got me started on the journey.

I am relatively new to the ukulele. Mine is a Romero Creations Tiny Tenor solid Spalted Mango. I got my own after using my wife's Cordoba 20 TM-CE tenor for a few months (our first ever ukulele). The Romero is a fabulous instrument, but I decided to play it only at home and get an Outdoor Ukulele Carbon Tenor for travel and day to day use.

First Uke was a Pono AT tenor from HMS. Great build and set up by Joel was excellent. I purchased it at HMS from help from MGM and Aaron when I was in Hawaii. I will probably never sell that Uke. I have a custom. I have another expensive Pono. I have a TT. And a Fluke. The Pono AT, MT and MGT are such at good value at $399. Serious starter Uke. I’m happy I did it.

My first was a Lanikai LU-21C. The action was so high you could hang your laundry on it to dry. Once I got the action lowered it played like a breeze. I regret having sold it. It had a great feel I can't put into words, it's something you had to experience. I haven't experienced that kind of feel since.

My first was a Mahalo MT-1. In June of 2013 I was leafing through a Musician's Friend catalogue when I came across it, I bought it for $60 only because it was designed like my Fender Telecaster guitar. I had no intention to play it, just thought it would be cute hanging next to the guitar. About two weeks later I received a postcard from the Los Angeles Music Center announcing their summer series play-along, which I attended in the past for guitar (played for almost 50 years), but this time it was for ukulele. Hey, I have one, I'll sign up.