What's the least expensive Ukulele you play regularly?

GF1

Reaction score
I'm interested to hear from everyone but the reason for asking was just I was wondering whether the more experienced players move onwards and upwards and never go back to the entry-level ukes, or whether the basic models still offer any sort of charm or pleasure.

To answer my own question, I'm just starting out, and the Flight 310 Concert I picked up for GBP19 actually cost me less than the first ukulele I bought - a Makala Waterman I bought for our children - which got me interested in learning myself, which in turn brought me here...

Last edited:
It's not so much that low budget ukes are unplayable or bad. But once you taste something higher-end, you sort of run out of reasons to regularly play something that isn't as refined and pleasant.

The only ukulele I regularly play nowadays is a Kanile'a tenor. I've no craving to play an inexpensive uke in the mean time.

The reason you buy a more expensive Ukulele is to play it, so no reason to play the low cost Ukulele after you get a better one, unless the low cost one is better than the expensive (you buy something wrong?)

When I have only one Ukulele which is low price, I have no choice, I only play it. After I got another much better and more expensive one, I only play the new one.

I regularly play my Runin soprano ukulele that cost me GBP18 brand new off Ebay. I own other, better, more expensive ukuleles, but this one resides almost permanently in my car so I play it almost every day.
It's used more like a travel ukulele. It's all laminate so I don't worry about humidity, etc.