G-String Koa Tenor for 700?

kiduke310

Reaction score
I just visited a uke store yesterday, and the owner is giving me $100 off a $799 Koa Tenor G-String uke. I heard from two of my friends that this is an INSANE deal that will probably never ever happen again, so i should get on it FAST.

but, i'm only a novice at the most. i can play only about 20 ish songs if i can remember them all, and have only been playing for 3 or so months. Every day i play for about two hours, but I'm pretty sure that doesn't compensate..

and I don't want to be the owner of a BEAUTIFUL uke and not be able to play it beautifully. i would feel ashamed to own it, but not be able to shred on it.

but, I have heard that the rising price of Koa wood is gonna soon impact, and perhaps this $700 dollar uke will become much more valuable and I won't be able to get this kind of deal again.

Also, my friend told me that you can always get better, but you won't always have an opportunity like this again.

but then, i'm only a kid, strapped for cash as it is. i can buy this uke, but it'd mean losing most of what i've saved up, and not getting a christmas or birthday gift (no Santa gift either! ]:)

and another guy in the shop told me
"you can either buy several ukes before you know you're ready for this, and spend lots more, or spend alot now, and just play this."

and then my mom said (and she's right)
"you know you won't be satisfied with this one uke, you'll want more and more"

but all i want after this is a concert flea for traveling, then i'm set. cause there's one for everywhere (flea) one for special occasions and normal jamming (g-string) and my sentimental first uke that i'm getting signed by every musical influence i meet. good idea?

is this BEAUTIFUL uke worth the sacrifice? i just wanna get someone else's opinion before i either lose my savings, or walk away from perhaps the greatest deal of my life.

mahalo!