What finger do you use?

rpeters

Reaction score
This is a total "noob" question, but I guess thats okay since I am a beginner and this is like my 2nd post here.

I see so many people using their index finger for strumming, (nail for down stroke) (flesh for upstroke) and it sounds great. I've been trying this for awhile, but it just doesn't seem to work that well on my ukulele. My finger keeps getting caught on one of the strings. Is my action too high on this ukulele so that when I make a chord certain strings stick out, which then catch my finger? Instead I've been using my middle finger nail (or index) and thumb nail for the upstroke like a guitar strum.

Does anyone here have any advice for a novice?

The instrument I play on is a lanikai soprano pineapple, but will be upgrading soon to a Kala Ka-st from MGM (I'm hoping he makes the perfect action on ukuleles and will make strumming with my index finger easier.)

I use my thumb,middle and ring finger, seems to work good for me but I am probably doing it wrong. I can't get my index finger to work.

Concentrate on finding something that is comfortable and feels and sounds good to you. There is no right or wrong way – at least that’s what I heard when I went through the same phase.

Personally, now I’ve settled on strumming down with my index, middle, and ring fingers all at once. On the upstroke, I rake the back of my thumbnail up the strings. Might be unconventional, but I like the sound and it feels good. That’s all I care about.

Find what works for you! Good luck!

So is it really a matter of personal preference or is there a definite technique that is better?

I figured using a the index finger is best used for very fast strumming like what Jake Shimabukuro does on some of his songs, but that may even be possible with middle finger and thumb as well.