Uke Scales - Diagrams

GrumpyCoyote

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
Seems like there is enough demand for these, so enjoy. Please let me know if there are any errors, or if you have any suggestions.

Note: I'm not a graphic designer - if anyone wants to help out on these and make them a bit more professional (fret sizes, backgrounds, text) - I would really appreciate it.

I don't include every key or mode, just some of the common ones I use - if you have a request, let me know and I'll add it when I can. The "Whole, Half" and fret patterns work for the mode no matter what key you are in, so they can help to transpose too.

How to use:

The red dots are "safe" notes to use in the key of the song you are playing in. Major scales can be used in most songs with a majority of major chords, Pentatonic and pent minor often work over minor key. Blues scales work over almost anything - especially I, IV, V pattern rock and blues. Start with Major and Blues if you never tried solos before.

The glowing red dots, are your root note - match that to the key of the song and start your solos there and you should be fine. It'll sound good no matter what red notes you play. To play the whole scale in any key, just start on any glowing red dot, and finish on the next glowing red dot. That's an octave on that scale in that key.

The "First Position" stuff is simply an easy way to play the scale low on the neck with as many open strings as possible. Just play the fret number on the string in order and you have your basic scale. Remember that G=4th string, C=3rd String, E=2nd string, and A=1st string.

Here we go...

AMajorUke.jpg

CMajorUke.jpg

DMajorUke-1.jpg

EMajorUke.jpg

Last edited:
wow, thanks, that had to be a ton of work. I really appreciate that!

these are super.
what a resource!
my only suggestion would be to slap them all into a pdf when you are done for easy transport..