New MP3 of "Ghost of Who I Was" Original

GrumpyCoyote

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
Nothing special, but I've been monkeying around with my Zoom, MP3s, and reverb nation...

The Ghost of Who I Was

All of it done by me through a mic (except cello) while sitting on the couch...

Rhythm Guitar: Martin Size 5
Rhythm Uke: Pono PTME
Lead Uke: Mainland Classic Mahogany Tenor
Lead Vox: Unfortunately, just me
Digital Cello: Garageband Synth
All Mic Input: Zoom H4N
Editing & Processing: Garageband

Not where I want it (I'm a crappy sound engineer), but it beats the snot out of my webcam methods... I am kind of proud of the lead improv though - not something I do often.

Let me know what ya'll think.

A gold star for anyone who can call out the time of the hidden cat meow during the lead... the little bastard. No way I was re-recording that, and it's oddly in key.

Last edited:
Can't wait to get home and give it a listen.

You previously had a Blue Snowball, right? Any reason for moving to the Zoom?
I like the blue - and they are a great company, but the Zoom had it on three points.

1) Versatility - the Zoom also lets me record without the laptop if I need to. With a big enough card I can record a whole live show just by dropping the thing on a chair and hitting record. I can also directly record from a mixing board line-out too - something the blue just cant do.

2) Stereo - That x pattern stereo pair of mics makes a huge difference. The sound quality is also a few notches better in my opinion. Subjective, but I'm essentially using it as my sudio set-up and it's got the chops to just pull that off.

3) Reliability - the Blue USB mic was great quality, but the drivers were a mess, and both Win7 and Mac would drop the thing without warning... very frustrating. Suddeny losing the input on a track was devistating enough for me just to stop using it altogether eventually.

Last edited: