What's Your Practice Schedule?

spacecakegirl

Reaction score
So, I'm a teacher, and I've just started my two glorious weeks of Winter Break, and I have a brand new Kiwaya KTS-4 that Santa brought a little early so I could have something to do on my two glorious weeks besides eat Christmas cookies.

I'd like to start "practicing ukulele" rather than what I do now (which is pick up my uke and jam some songs I love and jam some songs I'm working on and surf the internet looking for songs I want to love...)

1. How often/how long do you practice?
2. What do you do?
extra credit: Why do you do it this way?

Hey - your practice sessions sound a lot like mine. In just a few short weeks of playing I have already fallen into this same rut. I know that I won't get much better at anything but simple jamming if I don't get more discipline into my practice. I look forward to hearing what the more experienced players advise. I already know (think?) I need to start learning some finger picking, more interesting strums, and some more complex chord transitions.

What's wrong with playing songs you like?

I don't have a strict practice schedule any more. I've been playing stringed instruments all my life, and uke is the most recent addition to the arsenal. But when I did have a schedule, it was something like this:

30 minutes scales and warmups
10 minute break w/ stretching
30 minutes review material, songs I've been playing for awhile
10 minute break
30 minutes new/current stuff that I'm starting to learn

I did this twice a day with whatever instrument I was currently working on, usually guitar or violin.

I strongly recommend sticking to a schedule that allows for breaks, both to rest your hands and also clear your head. It helps keep frustration from getting a foothold.

And in addition to this schedule, I usually ended up jamming on something here and there. Above all.... have fun! :)