Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kia Ora from New Zealand

Default Kia Ora from New Zealand

Hi all,

This is my first post. A brief bit of background info before I go any further. Iím a 50 year old self taught guitar Ďstrummerí (canít pick at all) and in my lifetime Iíve had infrequent personal contact with the ukulele. In other words, I canít play the ukulele. After deliberating for some time now I decided to take the plunge and self-learn the ukulele Ö and Iím glad I did.

Although new to the Ukulele Underground forum, I have been watching (lurking?) the posts and the UU website for the past few weeks. This is a great site, with useful and friendly information from the members. As a result, Iíve had the pleasure of purchasing my first ukulele through Musicguymic, who was highly recommended through posts by a number of the UU forum members.

My new Ukulele (Kanile'a Ė K1 Tenor DLX) arrived from Musicguymic in safe and in pristine condition a few days ago. Iím absolutely delighted with this beautiful instrument and already Iíve had a great deal of enjoyment every day, learning heaps and attempting to make the transition from guitar to ukulele.

Considering that I am in New Zealand, Musicguymic made the whole experience of purchasing my first ukulele such a pleasant one including:
    • Strongly advising me (as a learner) not to purchase a slightly more expensive 6 string ukulele that he had for sale on eBay and to focus on a four string instead. This demonstrates that he has ethics, considers his customers needs and is not out to simply make a quick buck;
    • Providing prompt, friendly contact including calling me here in NZ when he was away from his base in Hawaii attending the Denver Ukefest;
    • Sourcing the perfect ukulele to match my requested specs, within budget, with photos and within his projected timeframe upon returning to Hawaii;
    • Being prepared to negotiate a mutually acceptable price;