Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi from Dublin, Ireland

Smile Hi from Dublin, Ireland

Hi everyone, I am new here. I have been spying this forum for a while now and have finally registered.
    I am a total beginner, just got my first ukulele (a cheapy Mahalo purple) and cannot NOT play it every single day. I have played piano for 6 years when I was a kid, so I know music theory and the like. I wanted to learn guitar when I was a teenager but my mum thought it is rebellious and wouldn't buy me a guitar.
    But now I realise ukulele is even more rebellious! If being rebellious means being different!
    Soon enough, I also discover that ukulele players are very special, they are not pretentious, they are not 'stereotype ukulele player', if you see what I mean. EVERYONE can play ukulele, it is a cool community.
    No, my mum doesn't know I play ukulele yet, hey, I am a 30 year old married woman, I am not telling!

Aloha alice, e komo mai to UU. Just jump right in if you have questions or even answers. Good to have you here. Tell hubby and mum to join too.
    Illegitimus Non Carborundum

I ʻike lākou, ʻo ʻoe, ka mea wale nō nona ka inoa ʻo IĒHOVA;
    ʻO ʻoe nō ka Mea kiʻekiʻe loa ma luna o ka honua a pau.
    Nā Halelū 83:18

Eirie go brach. Welcome to UU. It's easier to hide a ukulele from mum. Tell me, do you eat potatoes everyday?

Hello and welcome to UU! You could always surprise your mum with a youtube video!
    About
    &
    My Papa Dave (Tube)

You don't have to be any good to have fun.

Quote Originally Posted by dhkane View Post
    Eirie go brach. Welcome to UU. It's easier to hide a ukulele from mum. Tell me, do you eat potatoes everyday?
    Well yes and no. I am not actually Irish, I am originally from Hong Kong, my husband is French Canadian, and we lived in France for some years, so we are eating a mix of different things most of the time. (Irish breakfast with chinese noodle, anyone?)