new to the site and looking for an answer

yoshowa

Reaction score
i have recently started playing uke, and have quickly gone from one a mohalo saprano (got from a local shop and it was exactly what i paid for it cheap, got it for may daughter but it sparked my love for this particular instrument), the kala archtop tenor ( first real purchase for myself, i love this ukulele good sound and it feels good), and i just recently baught a lanikia spalted mango-ce (great tone and volume, much more than what i was expecting out of a concert size), and now for my question. Between the tenor and the concert there are things i would love to get out of just one the tenor seems to be strung tighter and has more announciation between strings i love this but i enjoy the scale and timber of the concert more is there a way to get a tighter string on the concert, i am currently using aquilla strings on all my ukes and enjoy the sound, but would a tenor string on the concert help. remember i am new to this but know my sounds and how things should feel i've been playing various instruments for more than 15 years not long as music goes but just enough to know 1 or 2 things. Thanks in advance

josh

Welcome to UU! I'm not positive of the answer to your question. I only have tenors. I would just start trying different strings until you get the feel and sound you're looking for. Everyone has a favourite type and you probably get a ton of suggestions. Right now I'm using classical guitar strings on mine and I think you can do this on a concert. Have fun finding what you're looking for.

You could tune up the concert half a step.