Weird Uke Suspicions..

KikonuMedia

Reaction score
Since most Oregonians in my area don't know what a ukulele is (I'm not racist!), they always make weird suspicions about me :(. One time I was at Multnomah Falls at place where you look at the waterfall, and I started playing the ukulele. Legend is that an indian (I'm not racist!) woman jumped off of the waterfall and gave her soul to the gods or something. Whenever it rains, it is said you could see her face through the water of the waterfall. So as I started to play a beautiful melody, an old man comes at me, grabbing my ukulele and snatching it. I looked at him in wonder.. He said "What are you doing kid, tryin' to get the spirit awoken?!" That guy was really weird.. So, have you met anyone weird that thought you were weird just by having/playing the ukulele?

P.S: I'm not racist!!

Just because of my size, yes. I play a soprano, and now even a sopranino, and being quite larger than even Brudda IZ was, I get allot of stares of wonder. When I start playing, and they see it isn't some kinda joke, the wonder turns to lots of smiles...

Aloha KikonuMedia,
Welcome to the UU, I'm sure you're not a racist....but he maybe supersticious!!
Must have really caught you off guard, thanks for sharing with us... MM Stan

Tudorp.. Don't mind the rude people who look at you because of your size.. And even if you are big and the ukulele is small, I bet your talent is HUGE :). And yes, that guy who just snatched my ukulele should repay me by wiping his fingerprints off my ukulele :mad:

Any more stories? Haha

Multinomah falls is beautiful. you would think there would be more spirits there from people trying to see it from the highway and wrecking their cars. i almost moved to vancouver, wa. but not cool stories other than all my friends at work begging me to bring my uke to work to entertain them at lunch.

Haha. Its funny how ukulele players are like jokers to kings.. Well some of them..