Is there something seriously wrong with me?

Jerlial Prophet

Reaction score
I just got my first Uke, a Mainland Classic Mahogany Concert, a couple of weeks ago. I love this thing. I've been a guitar player for years but recently got a bug about getting a uke. So, since I've received the uke, I've only played guitar one time. I even have a special order Taylor 812c on its way and I hardly even care. All I can think about is a way to get my wife to let me get a KoAloha Pineapple Sunday. Is there something seriously wrong with me? I guess my GAS (of the guitar variety) was just replaced with UAS.

Nope. Same thing happened to me. I've been a bass player for nearly 30 years, and I also have a decent old Yamaha acoustic guitar (which admittedly I didn't play much anymore already). Since I started playing ukulele about a year and a half ago, the only times I touch a bass are when I am gigging or practicing with a band. I don't think I've touched my guitar more than two or three times. But I spend at least an hour nearly every day playing a uke. I love it! I also love bass, but it's just not as much fun to play by myself.

Answered in the first phrase of your first sentence.

Is there something wrong with you?

"I just got my first Uke..."

Yep... you're done for...

Aloha Jerlial,
Welcome to the UU, and congrats on all of your recent purchases...We've all got the
same urges here...so you're not alone....is it normal ..who cares...
The ukulele is very addicting, and so is buying them....
Enjoy the journey!!! "Keep strumming them strings...Ukuleles are forever!!
Uke On!! MM Stan..