My tuner sucks, or im stupid...

Eallend7

Reaction score
Okay so i have an Fzone FT-2000 C, clip on chromatic tuner, and its confusing me, it recognizes the G string as an F, the C string as some unrecognizable letter, but what looks to be a B i would assume, the E string as what looks like a D, and the E as a G....faulty tuner? suggestions? im clueless..i tuned it to whatever those letteres are and now it sounds like crap...

Edit: im a complet enovice to string instruments and really have no clue how to tune except wit ha tuner, i know there are the GCEA strings and i found them on the fret board, am i being a complete beginner here? or am i supposed to tune it to a certain "key"? please help before i embarrass myself further :p

Last edited:
I'm not familiar with that particular tuner, but I'll give it a shot. Does it have different settings for different keys, or different instruments? For example, the tuner I use can be set for violin, guitar, bass, or chromatic (chromatic is what you want for uke). It also has a setting for frequency - if I accidentally bump that button then I get inaccurate results. The frequency should be set to 440.

no im pretty sure it doesnt have settings or anything, it has jsut one button and thats the on off button, i play a G on the G string a C on the C string and so forth, this is probably completely wrong but to me, a beginner, it seems brilliant haha, i tuned it to that, and it sounds aweful now hahah, so i know i did it wrong,

Edit: it does however say "a4 calibration: 440hz" so i guess thats good :p

Last edited:
Go here:

http://www.get-tuned.com/ukulele_tuner.php