Help with bracing and tone bar selection

gspears

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Hi all. I am looking to get a kit from Hana Lima to build my next uke. They offer 3 options for bracing and tone bars. Any suggestions? I am looking at possibly bubinga for back and sides. Maybe red cedar for top. Since I am new to this, can anyone help with there experience using any of these or others? I like playing low G tuning. My build is going to be a tenor size Uke.

They offer Engleman spruce, Western cedar or Honduran mahogany for their bracing and tone bars.

Thanks!

I'm no engineer and far from being a luthier, but from what I've read, bracing is usually best if it matches the top wood. That way they flex and expand together during heat and/or humidity changes. Unless you really know what you're looking for and have a specific need in mind, I'd go with that.

This is kind of a thread jack, but dustartist, I couldn't help but notice your Festool MFT --I'm currently trying to plan a (very) small shop and wondering how you find it (and any other Festool gear you use) for luthiery work?

Any of them will work. I use spruce for the fan bracing and mahogany for the other braces.
Honestly, what you do with them is far more important than choosing between any of those woods you mentioned.

And that is where the artistry kicks in.

You might consider using a hide glue on the back for the initial glue up as it will be easier to get the back off and play with the braces after you get it built. I have heard of putting a paper shim between the back and side to allow easier removal of guitar backs for this purpose. Make sure to immobilize the uke so you don't screw up your neck alignment when you reglue the back.