Solid vs. Laminate - Let the struggle continue

lindydanny

Reaction score
As a builder, I can tell you that I like solids better. On the small scale of my shop, plywoods are just too much to work with compared to solid woods. I do use plywoods in some furniture, but I'd never use it for an instrument.

As a player, however, I would go laminate over solid (if I have the choice) every time. I like their durability and consistency and, honestly, I don't think anyone could hear the difference*.

The sound of the instrument seems to be the argument that is used most often. However, I think the builder is the real issue here for me. If the builder builds quality, then he/she builds quality regardless of type of wood. I'll submit the following example for Benedetto guitars as proof of that:
knotty.jpg

Yep, that is a Benedetto** guitar made of knotty pine. From what I've read, it sounds just as great as his regular solid body archtops (even if not, it would still likely sound a lot better than any solid you could buy at Guitar Center).

I know that I'm only expressing my opinions and experiences hear. But I'd like to hear from people on what they honestly think. Not just I like "x", but actually why you like that. What convinced you one is better than the other?

~DB

* Audiophiles will disagree and say they can, but they also buy CD Mats.

** Benedetto is regarded as The master of archtop jazz guitars.

DB,