Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Low G Not for me.

Default Low G Not for me.

I have been playing the uke for about 4 months now. I came over after 30 years or so on the guitar. At first the hi g string threw me off a bit. But when I play my concert uke I love the original "UKE Sound". Then I bought a Tenor with the low g setup and honestly, I just can't hear the ringing, jangly uke sound I am used to. SO, tonight I put a hi g set on my Pono Tenor and am loving it. Am I missing something without having one of my ukes strung low G?
    Beeru Onegashimasu.
    Little ukes, Bigger ukes, Big ukes
    Stupid looking Hat
    Sunglasses and Sandles

High G for me.
    cletus

Both. It depends on what you are playing and strumming/picking. I have two Baris strung high/low and two tenors strung high/low. Sometimes in picking melody lines and fill in notes I like the low G, but also sometimes some songs and some picking just works best with high G. It really is a matter of personal preference and what sounds good to you. Lozark
    Kala Spalted Maple Solid spruce top Baritone C/ high G
    Ohana B-35 Solid Mahogany Baritone G tuning
    Makala Mahogany laminate Baritone G
    Kala Solid Acacia slotted headstock Baritone G Martin J68
    Kala Solid Lacewood Baritone Bb all metal Classic flat wounds
    Kala Solid Koa Baritone Cutaway w/PU C / high G
    Kala Solid Mahogany Baritone C Linear

Yeah I have the same thing. Low G sounds weird to me. It doesn't sound weird when other people play it, but it sounds weird in my hands.

Kanile'a dlx super concert / Koaloha concert / Ohana sk-38 / Risa Uke Solid Tenor

@Apollostowel @RockingDodars The Rocking Dodar Blog Proud to be TIGER. A REAL Tiger. All-in all the freakin' time.

If you need me I'll be on twitter, google+ or r/ukulele