Fingerpicking Problems!

FlakMonkey

Reaction score
Okay, so I'm an absolute Ukulele beginner who has mastered a few chords and I can also fingerpick simple tunes.

The problem is that when fingerpicking, I always use my thumb and only my thumb to strum. This is quite cumbersome and messy, but I just can't seem to be able to use all my fingers effectively. (Probably a bad habit picked up from Guitar Hero!)

So my question is, is it better to 'assign' each finger to a particular string or should I just keep trying and hope that eventually something will 'click'?

Another thing to bear in mind is that I only have this problem while fingerpicking. Strumming to chords is fine and I use my index finger with no worries.

My teacher has assigned the thumb for the G and C strings. The pointer for the E string and the middle finger for the A string for fingerpicking. I don't strum with my thumg while I pick and strum -- I use my pointer finger. I tried the thumb and it didn't work for me very well. It's ukulele -- it's whatever works. I do what my teacher requests. That's why I take lessons.

BUT -- I have seen some really fantastic players who only use their thumb or one or two fingers and it's incredible.

Thanks for the advice, I will definitely try the finger assignation (is that a word?) now that it has been teacher approved.

I think I may be doing it wrong, but for now, I'm trying to use only my 1st two fingers...

Yeah lots of people assign a finger to each string for fingerpicking. For me that's a bit cumbersome and thumb and index finger works best for me, but from reading your post, it feels wrong for you. For strumming I do the same thing in a different way, thumb down, index finger up. If I need more volume I can force myself to just use the index finger, or hold my hand such that more fingernail is used, it doesn't sound or feel as natural as when I do it the usual way.