Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Low G-String

Default The Low G-String

Hey Mates!

I have a Question about the low G-String. I've been playing the Ukulele for quite a while now, and recently I've been thinking about a Low-G-String, witch is recommended a lot in this Forum. I was at a shop today, to ask about it, but the Salesman sad it would only sound terrible if i try a low G-String, and he hates it. Now i wanted to ask if he's right (I hope not) and if not, what kind of string woud be the best to use. I have a Baton Rouge U4T-CE Tenor Ukulele.
    I'd be glad for some tips

Thanks

Seskahin

Sounds to me like the salesman misunderstood your question and thought you asked his personal opinion of the low G String.

My understanding is that the High g gives you the traditional ukulele sound. I am switching to a low G string on my concert for fingerpicking and to find out what I parsonally think of the low g. This has been discussed a bit lately. I am a beginner but purchased Worth medium tension clear with a low g. They were one of the recommendations made on the forum. Search the topic because there are some issues with the low g string being too thick for the nut that you may want to consider. Good luck
    RoxHum

"Music self-played is happiness self-made"

Sopranos: Donaldson (Myrtle), Kamaka (Koa), 2 Mainland's (Cedar/Rosewood & Mahogany),
    Nahenahe (Mahogany) (Thank you Stan)
    Concert: Mainland Classic Mahogany (low G)
    and one flashy white and gold Titano accordion

I love the sound of low G and my main players are all strung that way. I've been all over the map trying out low G string options and keep going back to Worth browns. I do have some Fremonts coming to give a try.

Spend the bucks (and become really proficient at changing out strings) to explore the low G world. Won't know till you try!

Good luck.