Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Transitioning from 'ukulele to guitar

Default Transitioning from 'ukulele to guitar

Hey guys -

I'm sure this topic has come up before (though I wasn't able to find a prior thread in my search), but I was wondering how difficult would it be to transition from 'ukulele to guitar.

I likely won't do it for a while, but playing the 'ukulele has got me wondering about adding another fretted instrument.

The reason I ask is I have no musical background at all. I can't read music, don't really get the theory, and am unable to play by ear, and don't understand the idea of different tuning or exactly what's the difference between a song in the key of C, D, or E. Yet, even with that handicap, I am still able to play the uke and make the songs sound more or less right.

How confusing is it to suddenly have to account for two extra strings? Is the difference in the GCEA tuning of an 'ukulele that big a deal compared to a guitar's tuning?

Color me curious and more than a little bit ignorant
    I got my wife, my dogs, and my Kanile'a. What else would I need?

Hard to answer these questions. Ukulele will give you more help with learning guitar than say piano. But with guitar you will still have to adjust to new chord shapes and everything else like the size and 2 bass strings.

In short yes.

I would focus on just learning guitar instead of seeing how ukulele helps you with guitar try to treat them like separate instruments. I hope this answers your question.
    Ukulele is more than just a hobby. Its a way of life.

The additional two strings is an extremely significant "handicap" in transitioning from uke to guitar. Chord shapes can differ radically and there are instances where strings are muted in order to play specific chords. Besides the fact that you are know barre-ing six steel strings across a 2" nut instead of 4 nylon across a 1.5" nut.