Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wrong Ukulele shipped to me...Should I keep it?

Default Wrong Ukulele shipped to me...Should I keep it?

I ordered a Kala solid mahogany soprano with geared keys but when it came in today it has friction keys. Me being a beginner I'm a little worried that I'll have trouble keeping it in tune. I do really like the traditional look with the friction keys. The store offered to knock $30 off the $196 price or I can return it for a full refund. I really don't know what I'm doing at this stage anyway. Do ya'll think I should just keep it with the discount? In case I decide to sell it later will it be less desirable? If I do have trouble with it are good replacement friction keys expensive? Thanks for any help with my decision.

I would keep it. I started out with friction tuners and I guess since I learned with them I do not see what the big deal is about folks that don't like them. If you decide to sell later personally the fiction tuners would make it more desirable to people who prefer friction.
    RoxHum

"Music self-played is happiness self-made"

Sopranos: Donaldson (Myrtle), Kamaka (Koa), 2 Mainland's (Cedar/Rosewood & Mahogany),
    Nahenahe (Mahogany) (Thank you Stan)
    Concert: Mainland Classic Mahogany (low G)
    and one flashy white and gold Titano accordion

As a beginner I would've wanted geared tuners. But now I would choose the balance of friction tuners on a soprano. And yes you can upgrade friction tuners if you desire. Mainland has deluxe tuners for $25, so there's the money you'd save in keeping a better balanced instrument.

A lot of people actually do prefer friction tuners. They're supposed to be lighter weight, so the headstock isn't weighed down by geared tuners.

Friction tuners are a little trickier to tune, though.

If it were me, I think I'd take the $30 off and deal with it, as long as you like the uke otherwise.