Why Do Folks Show New Ukes Here, Rather Than...

Rick Turner

Reaction score
Over in the Uke Talk section...where you're much more likely to have customers?

I for one have tired of showing my instruments off mostly to luthiers. Luthiers don't buy my ukes, guitars, and basses; MUSICIANS DO! Duh... So who do I want to have see, hear, and desire my instruments? Yeah, musicians...dedicated amateurs and professionals. Players. Collectors. Folks who want to own nice things.

I enjoy technical discussions here; I'm a pro and as into learning as I am into sharing ideas, but being a pro means marketing my instruments...and myself...to those who are likely to buy, and you guys are not my market.

If there's a skill that most luthiers lack worse than any other, it's salesmanship. And without it, it doesn't matter how good we luthiers think you are. You'd better have a significant other with a good job and benefits...

Because it's an opportunity to show off their work. That's obvious I think. It's also a good thing from the hobbyest builder perspective to see what other hobby builders are doing. I find it interesting, informative and in some cases an inspiration.
I don't see a lot of folks trying to market their stuff here.... it's not the place.
Think the issue is that we have a forum that is trying to cater to a very broad spectrum of builders, from hobbyest (like me) to the pro guys like yourself.
So, the question is; can we continue to coexist inn peace and harmony as we have seemed to have done for the past year or so (of my experience)?