Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Radius Dish CNC info needed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Stockton on Tees..North East UK.
    Posts
    4,851

    Default Radius Dish CNC info needed

    I have the CNC m/c available and I'm looking for info ..So I can make Radius dishes..Up to now all machining weve done is in 2D..and I require 3D for a Radius dish ( I think)..can any one help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    2,695

    Default

    Ken, actually, most CNC machines work in 2.5 D...that is they go to a certain spot in the X, Y, and Z axes and then just work 2 D, move over, and work 2 D again line after line after line. It's like a scan in 2 D.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Stockton on Tees..North East UK.
    Posts
    4,851

    Default

    Rick I know what you're saying but.. I'm hoping someone out there will just send a ready made file...My Son Mike is slogging away learning "Alibre" and "Solidworks" 3D CAD at the moment and it will be a few days before he starts to get somewhere with it

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Columbus, IN
    Posts
    821

    Default

    I could ask my programmer to write the program for you but I know he'd want reimbursed. If you're interested then PM me. I think I paid around $45 for the drawing, machining and material to make a 15' dish with a 18" diameter, so I can't imagine the program would be all that much.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Stockton on Tees..North East UK.
    Posts
    4,851

    Default

    Progress report..Mike (Timbuck Jr) says he's got the CAD sorted, and the dish is now drawn in 3D ..and now he's working on the CAM..We could be there within the next 24 hours.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    If so, please be prepared to recieve orders from the land of Vikings and eternal night...
    Building blog - http://www.argapa.blogspot.com
    Music and atrocities - http://www.goodcopbadcop.se

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    2,695

    Default

    Solid Works is good, very good. It integrates perfectly with "Visual Mill" for developing the CAM part...tool paths, tooling, and all that for outputting G code. We use Rhino with RhinoCAM which is an adaptation of Visual Mill. Rhino has fewer features, but all we need, and it's about 20% the cost of Solid Works.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Stockton on Tees..North East UK.
    Posts
    4,851

    Default

    Timbuck Jr spent several hours on a CAM program he downloaded free on the web, called Meshcam ..and he got a lot of problems with it and gave up (He do's all this stuff without any manuals or anything "completly self taught".. My brain can't do that ) ..I will recomend " Visual Mill" as per Rick and see how he gets on with that....He's not learning this stuff for my benefit..it's for his own business, he needs to make some new molds for forming plastics on his latest creation in "Electronic Drums"..and the Radius dish is a nice easy shape to start with.
    Last edited by Timbuck; 10-05-2011 at 10:48 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Stockton on Tees..North East UK.
    Posts
    4,851

    Default

    Success at last..Number one Son..has got it sorted....I asked for a boat curve 10ft Rad across by 5ft-2" Rad lengthwise so I can radius sand the backs of my sopranos with confidence...We dug out an old scrap piece of kitchen worktop to practice on..now we know it can be done i'll buy some decent MDF and make a decent one...The CAD used is "Solidworks" and the CAM is "ArtSoft Mach3"...It would be very difficult to make this without CNC
    Here is the 3D drawing

    Here is the CNC in action

    Here is the roughed out sample.
    Last edited by Timbuck; 10-13-2011 at 06:50 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Big Island, Hawaii
    Posts
    5,163

    Default

    I radius dish is so easy to make by fabricating a sled for your router. Don't need no stinking CNC.
    Chuck Moore
    Moore Bettah Ukuleles
    http://www.moorebettahukes.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •