Clear Flurocarbon Strings: What is your favorite brand?

Doc_J

Reaction score
I’ve been using Worth Clears (CM, CD) for several years, and like them a lot. Then I tried Southcoast Mediums this summer on a uke that formerly had Worth CMs. I liked the sound from the Southcoast strings better than the Worth CMs.

Last week I finally tried Martin Flurocarbon Strings on a new-to-me uke. These also have a very nice sound, but I have not tried other strings on this uke. So I can’t really compare. The Martin Strings seem just a bit harder than the CM or Southcoast strings.

All these FC strings have some similarities, but I think the Southcoast strings are a bit brighter with very even sound across the all strings, and thus are my favorite. But I will probably keep a set Worth CMs and Martin FC around.

Do you have any preferences (for or against) in clear flurocarbon strings?

Or do you think they are all about the same?

( Or are one of those folks who think FC strings are best used as fishing line. :) )

I really like the Martin M600s on my ukes. Recently tried Worth CMs for my low G and really like those a lot too - haven't tried them in reentrant yet but would like to. Still think I'd favor the Martins though, I prefer the feel of them.

I've used both Martin M600s and Worth CMs. I like both, but the Martins have the advantage of being easy to find in a lot of areas (not in MY town, mind you, but I've bought them not too far away- 60 miles or so). I had to order the Worths from Elderly. I think both brands sound good. I haven't tried them both on the same ukulele though, but I've compared them directly on different ukes. I think they both feel and play equally well.