Need help

Olive Oyl

Reaction score
I am a newbie and have my father's vintage soprano Martin Style O that won't stay in tune without over-tightening the tuning pegs. One Luthier suggested I try to find washers for the original friction tuners. He thought banjo washers may be small enough to work. Is there a way to find uke washers? I have searched online, but can't find any. Any suggestions?

Welcome to the forums!

Martin used pretty good friction tuners. I am assuming you have mechanical friction tuners, not wood peg tuners. I think we need a bit more information to help you. Where did he suggest you put the washers? A couple pictures here would do wonders. I've worked a lot with vintage mechanical friction tuners and often they need to be disassembled, cleaned, and reassembled with a bit of lubricating oil on the threads. That usually does the trick. However, for some tuners which have no washer between the plastic tuner button and the wood of the headstock, a small smooth metal washer there helps a lot. I like to use a smooth brass washer from the hardware store, nothing special.

So, if you can give more info and some pics, we can help!

I appreciate your reply. I'm not sure which type of tuners they are so I am attaching a couple photos so you can see what they look like. The luthier suggested placing a banjo washer, which he said was made from leather, between the the peg and the metal base it screws into. I have never played an instrument, so have never disassembled and cleaned one. I live in a small town so we do not a music store and certainly not a luthier nearby, but I am heading to Austin tomorrow for a week or two and can probably find one there if needed. Let me know if you think a small brass or stainless washer would work without marring the wood, or give me any other suggestions you have. I could really use some advice. Thank you.

PS - I'm trying to figure out how to attach a photo?

Hi Olive,