How should I hold my uke? (with 2 pics)

Kepakiano

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a total beginner with the uke and music in general.
I only know 3 chords: C major, G major and F major.

I have some trouble holding my uke for the G major chord:

1. See pinch.jpg
If I pinch the neck of the uke, I can switch between chords comfortably but the uke don't hold if I have just my thumb (no other fingers).

2. See rest.jpg
If I let the neck of the uke rest in the hand in the corner between the thumb and the index then the uke hold without my fingers but I'm not comfortable at all for the G major. Switching between chords is also slower this way.

What do you think is the best way?

thank you!

Attachments

• pinch.jpg
    pinch.jpg
    68.8 KB · Views: 37
  • rest.jpg
    rest.jpg
    61.2 KB · Views: 39
The common consensus will be to do what ever is comfortable for you, and gets the job done. That being said, if you can get comfortable with the thumb behind the neck, you will most likely find that to be advantageous as you add more and more chords. I actually changed the way I play G major, and now have my index, and middle fingers switched from what you have in your pics, it allows me to get to other chords faster.

Thank you for the fast answer.

Ok so I'll stick with the "pinch" and think about a way to hold the uke without fingers.

edit: thumb behind the neck: you mean like in the first picture ?

For G major:
- I have the index on the bottom string when I pinch but I can't do it when the neck is resting so I put the middle finger on the bottom string.

Last edited:
Sorry, I mean what you describe as the pinch. as opposed to cradling it.

didn't notice that you had different finger placement in the two pics. Ignore what I said about that, :eek: