Ouch! Aka no playing for me for a couple of weeks...

Kitters

Reaction score
I started playing the ukulele in April and before that I had quite a long break from playing the guitar so I classify myself as a beginner although not a complete newbie in playing instruments. Apparently I do have a lot to learn to keep me from injuring myself while playing...

I guess it's no more playing my ukes for a couple of weeks since I've injured my left thumb. :( Yesterday or the day before I noticed a sharp pain in my thumb occasionally that would feel a bit like when you have a pinched nerve or when a small vein breaks. Yesterday it got gradually worse to the point where it would feel like my thumb was stuck in the wrong position while it looked normal. Now I can't move the thumb at all and try to keep my left hand stationary and resting. Hubby has diagnosed my injury as tendonitis of the thumb and I think he's right.

The only thing I can think of that could've caused this is my playing technique. I have quite a long fingers and since I unfortunately also have hypermobile joints, my left hand technique can be a bit weird. I do confess, I also sometimes "cheat" by playing the lower strings with my thumb (something I've heard referred to as "the Jimi Hendrix technique"), something I used to do with the guitar too. The biggest problem is the hypermobility in my thumb. It is really hard to try to keep the thumb in the middle of the back of the neck when my thumb is bending backwards. I'll have to find a solution for my playing technique problems.

In the meanwhile all I can do is rest I guess (and you know how hard that is, trying not to touch a uke). Right now I wouldn't even dream of moving my hand since it is incredibly painful. Took me ages to type this with just one hand. Have any of you had similar problems and how have you solved them?