Amps????

mendel

Reaction score
First of all- Merry Christma to all.

Second- I installed a pickup all by myself! Checked ona friends amp today and it works! I had to do some adjusting of the transducer which onvolved stringing and unstringing as well as some more sanding of te saddle. Regardless, it works an i am very proud and pleased.

That said, I find myself in the market for an amp. I have never played another instiment which required an amp so I am not "in the know" about them. I've heard a lot about the Roland micro Cube as well as a Voc something or other. As always, I look to the UU for guidance and suggetions. This is not for playing shows. It is just for around the house/ classroom because I am a teacher. Please let me know what you think will best suit my needs. Thank you all for your advice.

Forgive my ignorance. I don't know the difference. It was a Mi-Si Acoustic Trio. An under saddle transducer.

A Mi-Si would be an active pickup, as it takes some form of electrical power (in this case, needs recharging).

The Roland Microcube is a very popular choice, because its a small amp packed with features, and can actually be pretty loud for its size.
It's the one amp, but the modules on it enable it to act as though it's 7 amps in one, with plenty of built-in effects. Quite easy to use, portable and can even run on batteries too if you feel like taking it outside or somewhere without electricity.

They're as sturdy as amps get, affordable and a very good companion for the electrified ukulele.

If you don't want the plethora of features, and just want something to play a natural sounding acoustic tone, then it may be better to get an acoustic amp though.
Roland has some good acoustic amps too.