What To Buy Next?

rowjimmytour

Reaction score
For the last thirteen months I have been playing chord chart, uncle rods boot camp, notebook of songs (some hard some easy) and Absolute Beginners Ukulele. I feel fairly confident in all but still have some room to grow and improve. I also have Learn To Play Fingerstyle Solos For Ukulele but this book is way out of my league right now and still need more practice. I would like to learn more music theory(first instrument) and technique but I don't want to mess w/ my flow. Would roadmaps be a good selection or should I get another beginner book?Please help recommend a good book I could use to help my progress.

Would roadmaps be a good selection or should I get another beginner book?Please help recommend a good book I could use to help my progress.

Roadmaps is an excellent book and you should definitely get it. But, if you're new to theory, don't expect it to make sense right away.

I've been playing for several years and that was one of the first books I bought. I started working my way through it on my own and quickly became overwhelmed and gave up. About a year later, the author (Fred Sokolow) began teaching workshops based on the book, and for me that really helped it all make sense - I really could not figure it out on my own and needed the help of an instructor. The book has a lot of information; I would recommend that if you do get it, just take it really slow.

To the best of my knowledge, there isn't a whole lot out there in print about theory that is specific for ukulele, so I'm not sure if there is anything else to recommend as an alternate choice. I think it depends on what exactly you are trying to learn. You might actually find more on the web - Jim D'Ville's site is a good starting point.