2 Questions: Need for Low G string and Capo?

frets alot

Reaction score
I'm a pretty accomplished fingerstyle guitarist and also fingerpick Scruggs style on the 5 string banjo. I'm new to uke, but have been messing around with fingerstyle. Based on my experience, I can see myself headed down that road eventually on the uke. I have a Kala Thinline Tenor.
Question 1...Should I have a low G string instead of a high G string, if I get into finger-style? BTW, I do intend on learning chords and rhythm too.
Question #2...Will I need to purchase a capo fairly quickly, if I intend on playing in uke jams...how quickly is there a need for a capo on the uke?
Thanks so much.
Susie

not much need for a capo with 4 strings. its not that hard to use barr chords with only 4 nylon strings so once you get a few movable chords down changing keys is not hard.you are definitely going to need at lleast 2 ukes, one high g , one low, then maybe a 6 or 8 string, maybe a banjo uke , a baritone , ... , welcome to UU and UAS.

Hi

Capo - I go to meet-up parties, and I never saw anyone using a capo. Ukulele players tend to stay in keys of C, G, F, maybe D A. Almost never flat keys. I also think ukulele neck is too short to add a capo.

Low-G - it is a difficult thing to decide and many simply use two ukuleles. I'm a guitar player and it is so much easier to me to use low-G. But when I do, I sound like guitar and I feel that is not the way. Someday I would like to conquer hi-G and feel at home.

Cheers
Chief

Seconding the need for two ukes. I play my reentrant soprano 99% of the time, but every now and then a great arrangement comes my way that needs those lower notes, so it's nice to have the option.