Hello! -from a Nerd w/ a Passion for Writing Ukulele Love Songs & Creative Commons

Kara Square

Reaction score
Hello! -from a Nerd w/ a Passion for Writing Ukulele Love Songs & Creative Commons

Hi there folks!

Aldrine's Uke Minutes taught me how to chunk and more... I don't know why I'm only signing up to the forum now! This is such an incredible, resourceful, and friendly site!

I'm a ukulele singer-songwriter from Columbus, Ohio. My biggest musical passions are the ukulele and Creative Commons (specifically ccMixter). I'm working on an album called "Love Songs For Everyone But Especially Uke." It is comprised entirely of ukulele love songs (aptly named, eh?). As I've been recording the songs, I post the ukulele and vocal stems on ccMixter. This amazing international community of musicians remixes them! I full-heartedly recommend ccMixter to everyone! (Disclosure: I'm an Admin there.)

I've been writing and playing music since I was a teen. I started with an acoustic guitar. I also play the banjo and I'm a recording engineer. After having carpel tunnel surgery on both hands, the ukulele has proven to be much easier to play than the guitar. However, I was draw to it by its sweet sound and the happiness it seems to emit upon the player! It's such a versatile little instrument. For example, this started as ukulele song (that's from my comedy music project- Mind Map That).

I'm half of an electro folk pop duo Team Smile and Nod. We're working on our third album. The ukulele makes an appearance in quite a few of our songs (esp. the 2nd and 3rd album).

Next week (August 2nd), I'm releasing the first single to "Love Songs For Everyone But Especially Uke." It's called "Start Each Day with Love." It highlights the main concept of this album- the universal nature of love. I'm finishing up the "official" music video now. Weeeeeeeeeeee! <-- I'm quite excited.