Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: krappy bass?

Default krappy bass?

Any opinion about these simple basses?

http://www.krappyguitars.com/index.html

Yup, mostly 2 string and some 3 string basses.

I don't have experience with traditional guitar bass "per se", however I played viol da gamba for years in college (an obscure renaissance bowed 6/7 stringed instrument played in quartet/quintet/sextet) that used skinny gut string for "fret markers" (I thought they were real frets until I started playing ukulele and found out what *real* frets are supposed do). When I sang in front of an orchestra once I got to play with around with a double bass and that was pretty easy to get used to.

I'm just considering grabbing a 2 string fretless to play with, one of their more conservative "punk basses" might be interesting.
    Last edited by bnolsen; 10-29-2012 at 12:52 PM.

I've played bass for 32 years. I looked at their website, and I thought some of them were really cool looking. And the prices are certainly nice! Their EUBs and Touch models looked really interesting.
    And really... do you NEED more than 2 strings on a bass? Well, ok, SOMETIMES I guess you do, but as I've gotten older I've realized that I am never going to be Chris Squire, so my playing has gotten simpler. MOST of the time...
    There are two types of people in this world:
    1. Those who need closure.

ca. 1923-'27 Martin Style 3M, ca. 1927-'28 Martin Style 2M, 1950s Martin Style 1M, ca. 1930 Gibson Uke 3, Kiwaya KTS-7, Mainland Gloss Mahogany Soprano, Mainland Red Cedar Pineapple Soprano, Mainland Maple Soprano Banjo Uke, Flea Soprano, Maccaferri Islander Soprano and Baritone, et al...
    My paltry Youtube Channel: www.youtube.com/user/ukecycle

I don't have an opinion on them, but there's a thread on TalkBass with over 600 posts that may be of help.

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/kra...s-klub-469936/