Yamaha Guitalele

ukulelearp

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm just learning to play the ukulele and guitar. I had been looking around for a nice, inexpensive, tenor ukulele and stumbled across the Yamaha Guitalele. My question is, do you think I will be better off with a regular ukulele? Could I fare just as well by simply muting the two top strings on the Yamaha when playing ukulele pieces?

Well I was originally searching for a tenor ukulele, so I was wondering if this would satisfy my want of a tenor and also give me a little more versatility in one instrument.

I want one in the worst way - but can't get them in the states.

I may have to just eat the shipping from the UK or Canada.

Well I'm in Texas, so if I get one I'll be importing it from Canada.

Well, there is a tenor on sale at the UU store for just under 200 bucks. Pretty sweet deal. Good Uke also.

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'd like to continue the guitalele discussion.
I've sent an email to WS64 about stringing for EADGBE and he hasn't been satisfied with any of his findings, but is there a way to be able to mix-and-match strings if I know of a place that sells me individual strings? Can I use baritone uke strings for DGBE and then find two others that will do well for the lower pitches?
What strings does the Koaloha D-VI ship with? I think I heard somewhere that it can be tuned for standard guitar and also ADGCEA

I used to have a cheap baritone-ukulele-sized guitar, it's a little bigger than Yamaha's Guitalele, but this probably still applies.

The "normal" tuning using a regular set of classical guitar strings was ADGCEA, but I was able to tune it to EADGBE by using a 7-string classical set (basically you toss the 1st string and shift everything else down one slot)...it worked, but the strings are thick and 4 of them are wound and it was a little loose feeling (it'd probably feel tighter on a tenor, not sure if it would be too much tension though).