Help with banjolele for a clueless beginner...

-Emma-

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I bought a handmade banjolele from here on the forum and picked it up yesterday.

I'm planning to take it to a workshop in a music store to get it professionally setup, because I am completely new to the banjolele and totally clueless and I can't tune it and get it sounding right.

It has friction tuners and I have only used geared tuners on my tenor uke, and I have no idea how to tune it. I read here that you basically "pinch" the friction tuners, but I have found them absolutely impossible to tune. When I get it professionally setup I definitely want the tuners to be changed to geared tuners...what type of geared tuners would you recommend for a banjolele? Roughly what should I expect to pay to have the tuners replaced?

Does a digital tuner work on a banjolele?

Also, what kind of strings would you recommend? On my regular uke I have the Aquila Nylgut strings and I like how they sound. What strings work well on the banjolele?

I'd really appreciate any suggestions/help :) .

A digital tuner should work just fine on a banjolele. Most tuners these days work through vibrastion in the insturment, so as long as it makes sound the tuner should work. These are the type tuners that attach to the headstock of your instrument, like a Snark or Intelli. Some have a built-in microphone and will tune based upon the sound produced by the instrument and do not have to be in direct contact with it. Either should work.