Tuning whole-step down (F Bb D G) : how to keep in tune?

green_bear

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to ukulele, so I apologize if I sound like a noob.
I got myself a cheap soprano uke a few weeks ago. After a while I finally got it to stay in tune (standard GCEA). However, occasionally, I've found some of my favorite songs that would require tuning half-, or even full-step down. For example, "the Scientist" by Coldplay:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2yXcM838eM
The problem is, as the strings were tuned for GCEA, they just cannot stay at F Bb D G throughout the whole song. Also, they feel loose.
My question is, what would be the most convenient way for me to keep the GCEA tuning, while occasionally being able to play with half- or whole-step down? Do I need to buy new set of strings to use for the lower tuned songs?
By the way, I need to mention that I'm still using the manufacturer's strings for the moment. I also bought the Aquila strings lately, but keep using the cheap strings for now since they already stay in tune. Would the Aquila strings stay in tune better with occasional down-tuning?

Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated!
G_B

Well, you could transpose it up so that you don't have to retune.

Strings generally try and pull to the pitches they have been used to for a long time. So if you suddenly tune down a whole step they will pull sharp for a while. If you were to leave it down for a day and then tune up they would slacken for a while. Retuning extremely is kind of a pain due to that.