Guitalele?

zeraOne

Reaction score
Okay well i'm not a beginner at the ukulele but I am with the guitar. I can only learn by ear so I don't know anything about octives or whatever. But anyway, I was thinking about getting a guitalele. I know this might sound like a dumb question but can I just play it like a guitar? Like I know the regular chords you play won't have the same tone but can you still play it that way? I don't really want to get a guitar because it hurts my fingers when I press down and I want to get something small and portable.

Is it a guitar but has the sound of the ukulele?

btw, I haven't been playing both of them for long. I've been playing the ukulele for 3 years I just learned how to play guitar over the summer.

They are uke sized guitars in the way that a Ubass is a bass, not a uke. I gave my Cordoba to my son who plays guitar. Since you can now get them for the same price as the Yamaha, I feel they are much better in every way. Some Yamaha owners may disagree, but a direct comparison should settle it. better models available from top makers. Good luck.

...I know this might sound like a dumb question but can I just play it like a guitar? Like I know the regular chords you play won't have the same tone but can you still play it that way? I don't really want to get a guitar because it hurts my fingers when I press down and I want to get something small and portable.

Is it a guitar but has the sound of the ukulele?

btw, I haven't been playing both of them for long. I've been playing the ukulele for 3 years I just learned how to play guitar over the summer.

The tuning of the guitalele is like putting a capo on the 5th fret of a guitar. So, yes, you can play it like a guitar. It won't have the re-entrant sound of standard uke tuning, but it won't really sound like a guitar either. It is like playing a uke tuned to low G and adding two lower strings.

–Lori