Alternative to YouTube/other video sharing sites?

Hey, folks (UU Mods, sorry if I am posting this in the wrong area) ~

Does anyone out there use any of the other video sharing sites? Vimeo? DailyMotion? Metacafe? Other?

I am trying to find a video sharing site that would be similar to YouTube -- i.e., a place where as an amateur musician, I can upload videos as I've done on YouTube for the past four years.

I have heard that Vimeo is more for "pros," but don't really know too much about the other video sharing service sites.

If anyone has any firsthand knowledge/experience -- or if you've even heard/read any info that you'd like to pass along...I would be very grateful!

Thanks! :)

I use vimeo. If like to upload hi quality videos they appear to use better compression vs youtube resulting in better quality. There are a bunch of limits though for hd uploads and putting your video in a queue so that paid members get thier videos uploaded first. Search bar on vimeo is awful in my opinion. Search results are not as accurate as I would like. If you want a lot of views your best bet is youtube. With that said I do like the qualitu I get from vimeo compression and the download button allows other users to download your video in various resolutions so I do pay the $60 per year for Vimeo plus membership.

Also if you are serious or a video hobbyist vimeo is probably your best video site as there is a sense of community over there. I have answered dozens of questions about how I shot my videos over there and I've also asked a bunch of questions which in general get answered maybe 80% of the time. That would never happen on YouTube.

Last edited:
sorry i am not very versed on the different sites, but I will watch your vids wherever you put em!

Hi, ohmless ~ Thanks for saying that -- it means a lot to me! :)