Aloha all from SoCal...

avlamonte

Reaction score
Got back from Kauai on Sat where I purchased a Kala Travel Tenor from Hanalei Strings. Alicia told me about this forum so here I am...

I am a Uke newbie, but played around a little with a classical guitar in the past. It would be cool to find some folks to play/hang around with. I am in south OC...

Allan

Greetings and welcome. That Kala travel tenor sounds great. Good luck finding a uke group. You have come to the right place.

Greetings and welcome. That Kala travel tenor sounds great. Good luck finding a uke group. You have come to the right place.

Thanks Phil. I used to own a Jeep forum, so I am very aware of the benefits of joining them. This seems like e great group of folks also.

Welcome to UU. Lots of great people and info here.

Welcome! You might want to check this list out and see if you can find a uke group convenient to you - seems like there is a lot going on down your way.

That is awesome! There are a few meet-up groups in that list that are fairly close to me. I have already joined them on Meet-up!

Thanks so much for the welcomes everyone! I am so glad to be here...

Hey! I bought my first uke at Hanalei Strings too!

That is so cool! I found Alicia to be so nice and helpful...great experience...not so great when I went back a few days later to ask some questions...the guy that was there then did not have near as much of a friendly approach...I am stoked though with my purchase...what did you buy?

What part of SoCal are you in? San Diego and South Orange County here

I am in Aliso Viejo. Sounds like you are close by!

I have been to two Uke groups now. One at Island Bazaar last Thursday which was a little advanced for me (which is good to push me to learn more).", and one on Sunday at Molly Blooms which was easier to keep up with. I am so impressed with the aloha spirit I experience at these events. I am so enjoying the whole Ukulele experience!