Resting Pinky on body while finger picking

heyitsamike

Reaction score
hey guys i just wanted to see how many of your kind of anchor your pinky against the body of your uke while finger picking? is this a bad habit? how do i over come it?

I do it all the time. Well....not all the time, but most of the time. I get better control. There are certain techniques that demand some type of anchoring -- tremolo for one.

Not everybody does it, but it's quite useful.

I do it, because that's how I was taught way back when. But I've recently noticed others who don't do it, and who use their pinky to play instead, and they seem to have a bit more... freedom? than us pinky-anchorers. So I'd recommend playing with, and without, anchoring, to see which works better. As for me - old dog, new tricks, etc., I suspect I'll always be a pinky-anchorer!

I hope it's not a terrible bad habit, bcuz I do it frequently. As a retired dentist, I have to say that using a finger rest to stabilize your operating hand is recommended. When I was drilling, using a hand instrument or scalpel, I always used my middle or ring finger planted to stabilize my hand. This has translated over to my uke playing and I just naturally do it when I'm picking. I'm just a beginner picking though, and if this is a terrible habit, I will try to stop. More experienced players, please advise.

Last edited:
Coming from a background in classical guitar where anchoring the pinky on the soundboard is considered a big no-no, I don't do it. It actually restricts the movement of your other picking fingers.

But I've seen better players than me who do it. I've also seen people who pick with just their thumb, or their thumb and index finger, which I find limiting compared to using the thumb and index, middle and ring fingers.

When your hand floats just barely above the strings and you can pluck them from a good angle with little effort, playing will be easier.