How many of you are self-taught?

alaaji

Reaction score
How long did it take you to learn your first song and what was it? How much do you practice a day, week or month?

I'm really curious because I work in the middle of nowhere (North Africa) and I only get to the States once every couple of years. There isn't anyone here who has ever heard of an ukulele much less played one. They do have some interesting instruments here though. So, I can't take lessons and Ukulele Underground along with Youtube are my only outlets to the uke world.

I try to practice when I can but work and family are my main priorities. I have all the major, minor and 7th chords down with a few chord progressions. Strumming is still a bit of a problem but it's coming along. Anyway, I needed a barometer to see if I'm progressing a good pace for someone with no musical background and no teacher.

Thanks!

Can't say anything about myself, but my older brother it totally self taught. He started with standard Kelii, a chord book, and a song book.
As for your question, he played like mad when he started out. then he decided to slow it down to maybe a half-hour everyday practicing, so it wouldn't lose it's thrill. But, no matter what, he played every single day, even if it wasn't practicing. He got the basics down in less than 3 weeks, then he was off. 10+ years, he's figuring out songs by ear and everything

I dno, it depends on how big a part of your life this is gonna be, and on your schedule. Like you said, work and family are important, but how important is music? John Mayer spent how many years, again? ;)

Last edited:
i taught myself man. I started with a cheap purple mahalo soprano and with gently weeps tabs. and tried playing and learning off youtube also. I learn how to strum and different picking techniques. I always played the ukulele everyday, not sure how many hours but i didn't miss a day. Gave it a break for probably 6 months then hit back harder than ever.