Blackbird Clara- or-??

MarTay6

Reaction score
I've been mulling over a Pineapple uke for some time, kind of in the back of my mind.
Then I heard a Blackbird 'Clara' Concert, and was pretty well blown away by the tone and volume.
First of all, as a lifelong woodworker, I love wood! Also, as a former guitar player, I had an Ovation guitar, and did not like the bowl-shaped back experience. I wouldn't particularly like having to add a strip of sandpaper to the back of it to keep it from sliding around.
I'm a fingerstyle player, and love the way the Clara sounds when fingerpicked!
Would have to order with no fingerboard dot inlays, as the thought of aluminum dots turns my stomach...
SOOOoooo... my question is, is there another Pineapple concert out there that could compete with the Clara?

1) Every ukulele player needs a concert.

2) As a Clara owner I can vouch for the sound of the Clara and the articulation of the notes when picked. That said, I use a strap when playing standing. With practice you can use your arm to hold the body while you play.
That said, I usually play it sitting down. 🤪

Although not exactly pineapple-shaped, the Romero Creations "Tiny Tenor" is a wonderful-sounding, easy-playing, loud instrument. The overall body length is no more than an average concert uke. It's available in several wood combinations and priced well under the excellent Clara.

Get the Clara add grip strips from Magic Fluke. Certainly not sand paper.
Or just those rubber bathtub patches/stickers?

Don't have one (yet), but I don't think the Clara has any competition in that category (alt materials concert).

Or just those rubber bathtub patches/stickers?

Don't have one (yet), but I don't think the Clara has any competition in that category (alt materials concert).
Klos just launched their concert sized carbon fiber uke. Might be worth considering as well.