Building a soprano

Smallchewbacca

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I’ve started on my first ukulele build and I’m going to use this thread to document it and share my progress.

Im a software engineer for my day job and an amateur woodworker. I have an open back banjo under my belt and I’m excited to build my first ukulele. Check it out below. It’s a piccolo banjo with an 8” rim made of walnut and rosewood. My goal with this build is to increase my overall precision and hopefully get something playable. I plan to move slow and spend a lot of time on jigs and fixtures with future builds in mind. Im also the father of a 2 year old girl, so time is hard to come by, but I try to get a few hours a week to move things forward.

I recently moved across the country and had to sell off my wood shop before the move. I’ve slowly been rebuilding my shop but it’s got a long way to go. I’ve been on Craigslist and Facebook marketplace non stop looking for used equipment. Most recently I saved a table saw from a cabinet shop that was closing down. It needed a lot of clean up, new arbor bearings, rust removal and squaring up the table and the fence.

For this first build I’m going with a soprano. I don’t want to splurge for nice tonewoods on this build so I’m using what I can find locally for cheap. I’ve sourced some poplar for the back and sides and some cedar for the top. I’m fine with the chance this wood combo sounds bad. That’s not really my goal for my first attempt.

I’ve made a few high level decisions already. I plan to build the body and neck separately and do a bolt on neck. I’m not sure if I will do a mortise and tenon in that joint or not. I may just go for a butt joint connection. I plan to add a rosette and at least front binding. It’ll have 12 frets to the body. And I’m thinking I want the strings to tie on under the sound board via a pass through bridge. Other than that I will figure it out as I go.