Distribution of playing across your collection?

modwitch

reckless novice
UU VIP
Reaction score
It has come to my attention that some of you have more than one ukulele 😂. I come from violin, where most people only have one instrument, so I am fascinated by this. I realize some of this may be collecting ukes, rather than playing them. (No judgment, I have a yarn collection). But I’m curious how your playing time distributes across your collection, and what factors drive that distribution.

So. Size of herd, and what do you play most, and why?

I try to play all of mine in the classroom, and they’re all strung and tuned variously, for different repertoire.

HF-3, low G Taropatch, for playing and teaching slack key songs
HF-3 and HP-1, high G standard tuning, for any music written for high g tuning.
HF-2, low G Wahine, for one specific song I teach in Wahine tuning
HF-1, low G tuning, for simple melodies that require a bit extra range.

I'm not an expert but it seems the only thing in common with violin is the number of strings and sometimes the case size. Mostly they all look and sound the same although like any instrument there are levels of sound quality. I have a small uke family and for the most part each has a different voice and I enjoy changing up. Like ukeclass, I teach, and also lead Uke Jams and play in an all ukulele band so I get lots of opportunities to play them all!

I try to play all of mine in the classroom, and they’re all strung and tuned variously, for different repertoire.

HF-3, low G Taropatch, for playing and teaching slack key songs
HF-3 and HP-1, high G standard tuning, for any music written for high g tuning.
HF-2, low G Wahine, for one specific song I teach in Wahine tuning
HF-1, low G tuning, for simple melodies that require a bit extra range.
Okay, that’s a really cool reason to have a herd! And you clearly have a brand preference 😁