Hello from the Mile High City

Ordiedad

Reaction score
Greetings,

As you can tell I currently live in Denver, CO. I have lived in many other places from Phoenix, AZ, San Diego, CA and Bremerton, WA. I am a US Navy Vet who played with things that went boom. I can play the piano and a little guitar, but I got into ukuleles a few years ago when my daughter purchased a cheap soprano at a local music store. To my amazement she picked it up really quickly. Fast forward a few years and she has moved onto a solid wood Ohana. During that time my wife and I wanted to play with her so we unknowingly got each other a uke for Christmas right before the pandemic. She got me a Makala Tenor with a low G, and I bought her a Kala Concert. We are now both starting to feel and hear the level of ukuleles we have. They were great for starting out and learning. I stopped playing for a while to help my daughter focus on her golf game. So, all my spare time was spent at a golf course. Now that my daughter is getting close to finishing high school and going off to college I am looking to get back into some hobbies I have had. That said, I think both my wife and I are looking at a little better quality ukulele than what we currently have. Playability and good tone are the most important thing to us. Here Kala came with terrible fret sprout and it has taken me a lot of work to get the frets filed down and polished to make it more playable. It actually cut her when she first played it. (Lesson learned - don't buy musical instruments from Amazon). In my search for new Ukuleles I focused primarily on the big brands, Kala and Ohana etc. However, some new ones have crossed my searches such as Flight, Sound Smith, Bondi, Snail. If anyone has suggestions I am open to hear what people think.