How to play E major chord?

aziandoll

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to playing ukulele. I'm having trouble playing the E major chord. What fingering do you use? It seems that every time I play it, it ends up sounding muted. Sometimes it buzzes. Are my fingers too fat? :confused: I use my first finger on the A string, 2nd fret, and then the other fingers on the 4th fret of the other strings. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I am playing a soprano. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks :)

Please use the "SEARCH" feature........

Ah the uke E chord, the equivalent of a guitar players F.

I've found that growing an extra finger has helped. Alternatively, get a family member to hold one of the strings down for you.

If all of that doesn't work, it's practice I'm afraid...

C'mon, be nice. Dude only has five posts.

If the top knuckle of your ring finger is flexible and facile, you can barre the second fret with your pointer and do a partial barre of the fourth with your ringer, leaving the A string open. Or you can not worry about the A string because that exact same note is being played on the G string.

Sometimes the E7 will work in its place (1202) or you can give it the old (2225).

Also, try not to avoid it. I avoided songs with the e-chord when I started out. I know i'm stating the obvious but try and play it at every opportunity. Bob Marley songs tend to use a whole load of E's so maybe you could give them a go. Get it out of the way early on and soon enough it just becomes another chord that you won't give second thought to :)

Ouch! :biglaugh:

I know!

The best way to win over the E chord is to just play it.

I either use 2444 the way you described it or 7444 with a barred 4th fret and pinky on the first string, interchangeably depending on what sounds better.

practice practice practice...