I can't have a longer nail due to works, should I try getting a pick?

Revano

Reaction score
Hello, beginner here. I just started practicing ukulele for about a month. Well, until recently I was able to grow my nail out a bit on my strumming hand, but a few days ago I had to cut them off because of work. After that, realized that strumming became exponentially more difficult (I use index finger) and I really don't like how it sounds.

Since I can't really afford to grow a longer nail (even a little bit), I figure maybe I can try some alternative like getting a pick (I thought getting one that you put on your finger could emulate something like a nail), but I want to hear input from more experienced people here first. Is it worth getting one now? Or should i just try to gitgud without nail? If it's worth it, could anyone recommend the kind of pick i should get as a beginner?

For extra context, I'm currently playing a wood concert ukulele with a nylon string.

There are lots of picks available. You can easily make your own with scissors and a bit of plastic. Most people like a thin flexible pick but some like stiff. I use an Alaska pick that fits over the finger.

I don’t have long nails (just can’t grow them) and strum with my forefinger. I’ve found that my fingertips on the strumming hand have toughened up over time similar to my fingertips on my fretting hand. The sound is good to my ears and I am able to get nice dynamics and even angle in to add a little of my stumpy nails for emphasis.

So… if you get frustrated with picks, try using fingertips too and see how you like it as they toughen up.

No

There are many techniques that people use to strum. You can explore them to see if one or more work for you.

I know very few people that use a pick for strumming (I actually use a thumb pick for fingerstyle). It is one more technique if others do not work for you. But having a pick engaging the thumb and forefinger will make fingerstyle much more difficult.