I have a really dumb question but I am not a musician so I'll ask anyway...

Eggs_n_Ham

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I realize professional players like Brittni Paiva and the lovely gents at HMS have been playing basically most of their lives. They're abilities to make an instrument speak are what dreams are made of.

My question is: As they are fretting chords and their picking hand is doing what? Making notes? Tones? They use all of their fingers and sometimes it is a fairly distinct "fingerstyle" pattern but not always. How do I begin to learn to play like that? Not to be the instant expert, no, but to begin to learn and understand; to practice that method of playing.

I prefer "fingerstyle" to strumming and practice everyday. Is it intimate knowledge of the fretboard learned after years of pactice and playing? Music theory? I understand inherent talent; I actually think I possess that but it's taken me this long to start - aka able to afford an instrument I could actually play.

I can't cancel italics!

Here we go. Better. If you're reading this and saying "it's years of practice and knowing music theory dummy!"- okay, I appreciate that and will continue in my path- it is working, just not in the direction I would like to be going in. But I have to really start working on music theory related to the ukulele.

My Millar and I thank you ahead of time. ;)

If you're reading this and saying "it's years of practice and knowing music theory dummy!"- okay, I appreciate that and will continue in my path- it is working, just not in the direction I would like to be going in. But I have to really start working on music theory related to the ukulele.

My Millar and I thank you ahead of time. ;)